“The Little Ovary That Could”

The Proof!

The Proof!

In my last post I mentioned that I was looking forward to posting about ‘primal pregnancy’ and didn’t think it would happen this quickly! We found out on Friday that we’re expecting! My husband was actually shocked and said, “REALLY??!! I didn’t think it would happen this fast…” Especially since I had an ovary removed earlier this year… and I’m 39. September was the first month we put a real effort into ‘trying’, too… We’re both really excited. After the initial shock wore off for my dear hubby, he came over, laughed and said, “It’s the little ovary that could, huh?” I can’t stop laughing every time I think about it.

I’m technically in my 5th week now, and so far, other than sore breasts and feeling a little tired, I haven’t had any nausea yet. I’m hoping it’ll stay that way, but it’s too soon to tell. I have had weird little things happen that tipped me off so by the time I got home last Friday, I was like a wild animal ripping open the box from amazon containing the at-home tests I’d ordered. When I saw the result, I couldn’t stop laughing and thinking, “I KNEW I wasn’t crazy!!!” It took a lot of control to NOT call my husband at work. I waited until he got home to show him the stick – and it took him a while to figure out what he was looking at. It was pretty funny.

So far, no weird cravings either – except that I can’t seem to get enough spicy food and beef jerky. Go figure. But I found a really great grass-fed, all natural one at Whole Foods, and Trader Joe’s has all-natural beef jerky as well. I’ve also tried their buffalo, and by accident, turkey jerky. Which makes me laugh every time I say it. I have to admit, it wasn’t as bad as I’d have expected, but I prefer beef.

I have noticed that my digestion has changed and food sits in my stomach a lot longer [which is natural and happens throughout pregnancy], so I’ve had to consciously make sure to eat smaller portions so I don’t get heartburn. Before this I’d probably had heartburn 2 or 3 times in my LIFE – I’ve always had an iron stomach, so to have it 3 times in the last week was a shocker for me and made it easy to modify my behavior. I’d rather graze all day on smaller portions of primal-friendly food than feel like THAT. Blech…

So now I’m just focused on eating well and getting enough rest. I’ve never been a napper, but afternoon naps are happening more frequently. Other than that, there isn’t much else I can do. My first doctor’s appointment isn’t until November 4th, so for now it’s a waiting game. Other than having to pee all the time and having sore boobs, I don’t feel that pregnant. I know that’ll change soon enough…

Leave a comment