Primal Thoughts 5-3-13

sexy calvesYou know what’s fun about finding a lifestyle that just works for you? Noticing little changes each day. Today’s little discovery was that my calves have tightened up a lot – like whatever fat I had left on them has miraculously melted off in the past week or so. There’s more there, but it’s not nearly what it was before I started Primal living 4 weeks ago.

I also feel like I’m getting younger – my skin is looking a lot better and has gotten a lot of its elasticity back. I just turned 39, so that’s a pretty big deal for me.  ;)

I realized this morning that the difference this time around from usual attempts at weightloss is that my cellulite is almost gone already, even though my size hasn’t changed drastically. I think ditching grains, legumes and sugar has let my body finally release all the excess inflammation and fluid – I just feel lighter all around. Normally I lose weight by burning fat, but that fluid is still there under the surface so it used to end up weighing everything down, and I would start to sag and droop… and that’s not happening this time [I am doing a mental happy-dance right now!].

Now I’m kicking myself for not taking my measurements before starting so I had something to compare to. Although, it really doesn’t matter to me as much – it would be more to tell others than for my own satisfaction. I can equate living this way to my first date with my husband… [stay with me] – I had dated plenty of guys and would know right away that they weren’t ‘the one’ and I’d just go through the motions for the sake of saying I was dating, but I didn’t feel like myself and it was stressful. Then, on my first date with my now DH, I remember feeling calm and happy and I had called my mother that night and told her how I just felt ‘different’… like being around him was just easy. She immediately said, “That’s because he’s ‘the one’!”

That’s how I feel about going Primal. It’s easy. I feel like myself for the first time in a long time. I’m not focused on all the numbers and markers and goals… I’m enjoying how good I feel and how easy life is now. Weightloss is certainly a HUGE benefit, but it’s not just about weightloss for me anymore. It’s about the rest of my life. And I know I found ‘the one’ with living Primal.

Leave a comment