Product Review: Nordic Naturals Arctic Cod Liver Oil

I decided to post about Nordic Naturals Arctic Cod Liver Oil because I’ve tried many different types of oils and pills to get more omega-3 into my diet and this is the first one that’s not only decent-tasting, but doesn’t upset my stomach. It comes in two sizes: 8 fl.oz and 16 fl.oz, and four flavors: Lemon, Orange, Peach & Strawberry.

I buy the 8 oz. size. It comes in a dark blue bottle, which I like – more harmful light-blocking. I also like the fact that I finish it faster. I think if I had a family and wanted all my kids to take it each morning in their O.J., I’d buy the 16 oz. size to save a bit of money, but the savings isn’t big enough to make me buy the larger size now, when it’s just me taking it… [$18.99 vs. $33.99 on average]. I use the orange-flavored one as part of my ‘mud’ in the morning and because I also add unsweetened cranberry juice and orange juice to the mix, I don’t taste the cod liver oil at all. I’ve taken it on it’s own, too, and was surprised at how well the fishy taste is masked by the orange and rosemary they add to it. It’s a far cry from the stuff my mother used to make us take when we were little! lol…

So far the quality has been consistent [I’ve tried taking gel caps before and it would be hit or miss on quality – some would be fine, other bottles would make me physically ill]. I store my cod liver oil in the fridge and it’s still liquid at that temperature, so it’s still easy to take and I feel better knowing it won’t spoil as quickly. I also take a full tbsp vs. the tsp they recommend and it lasts me about a month – so if you only take the tsp they recommend, it’ll probably last 2-3 months. I don’t think any of us get enough omega-3 from diet alone. I don’t know about you, but I can’t eat cold-water fish at every meal. That would get way too expensive. 

Now that I know there are more flavors out there, I’m going to try them. If any one of the other flavors happens to be repulsive for some reason, I’ll post again and let you know. 

Image credit: SMARTbomb.com

Leave a comment