Kiwi Fruit

I just ate some kiwi with a little Greek yogurt [that I strained myself using regular yogurt, since I ran out of the Greek stuff], and drizzled a touch of honey over the top. So delicious! I knew kiwi was good for me, but I didn’t know how good until I just did some reading. Turns out kiwi are not only full of protective antioxidents, they’re full of phytonutrients that have been shown to protect DNA. They’re not sure how yet, but scientists believe it goes beyond their large amounts of common antioxidents like Vitamin C – a kiwi has 95% of your recommended daily value, more than an orange has [by weight]. Another interesting factoid about kiwi is that it’s antioxident power gets stronger as it ripens, so it’s worth waiting for them to naturally ripen at room temperature to reap the full benefits. They also get sweeter as they ripen so it’s also worth it from a flavor standpoint. 

Uses:

I like eating kiwi on their own, right out of their ‘shell’ like a soft-boiled egg [slice off the top and enjoy with a grapefruit spoon], or I peel and slice them up to eat with yogurt or as part of a fruit salad. They add awesome color to any fruit salad with their pop of emerald green. I have a feeling they’d also lend themselves well to a fresh salsa – and since I have several kiwi on hand this week, I just may try that. 

For more information, check out this fantastic website where I go for quick info on different foods and their health benefits: WHFoods: Kiwi

Image credit: NutritionousFruit.com

Leave a comment